New Wednesday Training.

From next Wednesday 4th May Three groups starting, Group 1 will cycle 4 Mountains, Group 2 Steady Group flatish roads, Group 3 Ladies Group. All groups leave at 6.30pm every Wednesday. One Leader for each group. All Welcome.

The Hub Tour 17th April 2011

    Click on Garmin to view The Hub

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Southside Wheely Wheelers had a major achievement last Sunday 17th April by completing our first leisure tour, the 120kms and 60kms Kilmallock Hub Tour. A sense of anxious excitement was in the air as our club cyclists gathered before the tour start and proudly stood in new club gear for club photo to mark the occasion. Southside Wheely Wheelers cyclists looked dashing in their new club gear, rumour has it that the club gear and their style efforts has somehow managed to get them shortlisted for a vogue style award, a wonderful achievement !    Our enthusiastic club cyclists met the challenge of the hub tour by cycling strong throughout the day by cycling over 5 mountains in the 120kms. On the decent of the first climb Glenanair a herd of cattle joined in on the cycle and split the bunch and stampeded  ahead of the cyclists for a mile adding great amusement and maneuvering skill to the tour.  On the decent one club member punctured and club cyclists rallied to assist and worked with their teammate to get back in the tour. Club members regrouped at the food stop in Lattin and cycled as a team, Great stuff lads! and working hard at the front of the bunch to the finish in Kilmallock. Stephen, Brendan and Owen hearing opportunity knock, quickly opened the door and in the process pumped up the volume of the tunes and opened an unmerciful can of whoop ass. They descended in to Kilmallock at lightning bolt speed, so fast even Paul could not get a photo of the three amigos. Respect!!  Well done to so many of our club members for turning up for the first tour of 2011 season. SWW  look forward to the next tour. Southside Wheely Wheelers would like to congratulate Kilmallock CC on running a wonderful hub tour.   Club members who took part in the 120kms and 60kms were Tadhg Murphy, Paul Finn, William McCarthy, Brian Finn, Mary McCarthy, Timmy Hanley, Michael Duggan, Michael Gammell, John Fitzgerald, Denis Cleary, Jerry Ryan, Brendan Houlihan, Sean Burchill, Jerry Herbert, Elizabeth Leonard, Owen Tobin, Patrick O’Donnell, Tom Quinn, Paul Gammell, Mike Murphy, Gerard Finn, Stephen Finn, Janette Murphy, Shane O’Brien, Brian Hannon, Alyson Casey, Maurice Riordan, Liam Carroll. Well done.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


New updated pages on 12th April 2011 – Subway Sprocket Rocket page and Saturday Beginners / Improvers Page.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sunday 10th April  cycle was brought to you by the letter S, simmering sunshine, just a wonderful day for cycling and Southside Wheely Wheelers cycling club cyclists enjoyed every kilometre of the 90kms. Cyclists cycled to Ardpatrick, Kildorrery, Glanworth, Kilworth, Mitchelstown, Ballylanders, Knocklong, Kilmallock. Out Sunday cycling were Paul Finn, Shane O’Brien, Paul McCarthy, Daithi Creedon, Owen Tobin, Michael Duggan, Patrick O’Donnell, Brendan Houlihan, Stephen Finn, Michael Gammell, Jerry Ryan, Martin Lake, Stephen O’Meara, Gerard Finn, John Fitzgerald, Paul Gammell.

The SWW 5 Mountain Challenge.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sunday 3rd April Five Mountain Cycling Challenge. Southside Wheely Wheelers Cycling Club had 3 groups cycling Sunday morning. Group 1 started at 7.30am for 120kms cycle, Group 2 was the ladies group who met at 8am for 80kms cycle and Group 3 who met at 8.30am for 95kms cycle. Club cyclists took on the 5 Mountain Challenge cycling over Glenanair, Ballyshonock, Ballorgan, Ballintubber and over Aherlow mountain with a welcomed food stop at Christ the King for all groups. This cycle was a massive achievement for our cycling club who for the first time cycled these climbs. The atmosphere was fantastic on the Aherlow climb and spirits were high throughout the day especially at the food stop and tired legs could not dampen their enthusiasm. Congratulations to Michael Duggan, Liam Carroll, Jerry Ryan, Mark Lake, Tadhg Murphy, Patrick O’Donnell, Mike Murphy, Stephen O’Meara, Elizabeth Leonard, Owen Tobin, Shane O’Brien, Jerry Herbert, Paul Finn, Michael Gammell, Brendan Houlihan, Paul Gammell, Janette Murphy, Sean Burchill, Gerard Finn, Stephen Finn, Ber Gammell, Michelle Gammell, Denis Cleary and Timmy Hanley.